Plug-in designing

How would this work?

I'm a rather large Star Fox fan, and I've got EVNEW. I'm not good with graphics, so I was thinking of making the Kestrel white. How much of an affect do you think this would have? Close, kinda close, slightly resemblent, missing something?

I'm just going to move this to the Developer's Corner, where you're more likely to get responses from people who "do" plugdev. 🙂

Thanks.

First thing most tell you is worry about the ship graphics last... right now I'm working with 2d top down versions of the stargate ships for the Stargate Nova TC so find yourself a picture of the ship from the top view... use photoshop or paint or whatever to edit it with a grey background and use a program called spinapp to make the graphics needed by the game, the 6 x 6 tiles of the ship in all directions it has to face.

Have a look around the development forum as there are so many tutorials on how to make the ships for nova, i have no ability with 3d graphic software but you can get close enough with some time and effort using 2d that you can get the general idea across and might be able to get someone to help you out.

But make sure you have your plugin idea fully thought out... Are you adding only a ship or a ship with Star Fox technologies and weapons, if you are adding weapons then what will they look like how hard will they hit, will they have new graphics?

Play around for a bit, Scienceguy had been playing with editing nova for almost a year and i only a month when we started working on SGN in Oct 06, its now Dec 07 and i've learnt so much about the engine just from testing different things over and over again.

Don't be afraid to ask if you get stuck on things.

This post has been edited by Lostpinky : 03 December 2007 - 10:30 PM

Get Mission Computer and the Nova Bible from the addons page. Welcome to the boards!

Cosmic, if he's using EVNEW, that means he's on a Windows computer. He can't use MC.