Free 3-D graphics software

Where can I find it?

I have been making a few personal plug ins for the Original Escape Velocity for a while now, and I am now getting ready to buy Escape Velocity Nova. Is there a piece of free 3-D modeling software somewhere out there that can be used to make decent ships? I'm not too concerned with making things like 3-D movies (although that may be something I might want to do someday for a Nova plug). At the momment, I am just concerned with ease of use (I'm a novice), compatability (G4 Powerbook, 1 Ghz, Mac OS 10.2.8), appearance (I don't want a program that can't make decent shadows and/or textures), and price (free or less than $40 US).

Any of you out there have any ideas?

Did you try searching? This question has been asked many times. The answers you'll get are mostly Wings3D and Blender, but there are probably other suggestions too. Since you're on a Mac, you can use Mechanisto as well. Try the Just Graphics board.

You could also try demo versions of the high end software. Sometimes they make one of the demo's drawbacks the maximum rendering resolution, but since none of the images needed for Nova are very large, you should be fine.

Here, next tiem just search it up on board or google. You'll find what you want...ususally. :laugh:

POV-Ray (free), Wings 3D (free), Blender (free), Modo ($895), Alias Maya 5.0 Personal Learning Edition (free - not full featured w/ watermarks), Softimage XSI Experience ($19.95 - not full featured w/ less obtrusive watermarks than PLE), Animation Master ($299), Zbrush ($399), Eovia Carrara Studio 3 ($399), Maxon Cinema 4D 9 ($595), Strata 3DPro 3.9 ($695), Eovia Amapi 7 Pro ($799), Rhinoceros 3.0 ($895), Houdini 6.x ($1299-$17000), Softimage 3D 4.0 ($1495), Newtek Lightwave 3D 8.1 ($1595), Softimage XSI (no price quoted, but probably more expensive than Lightwave), Alias Maya Complete 6.0 ($1999), Discreet 3D Studio Max 7 ($3055), Alias Maya Unlimited 6.0 ($6999)