Plugin Archiver

Make life a little easier

Okay, I've managed to write a nice little Applescript to bin and zip stuff all by itself, saving the trouble of binning all your plug-in files separately before zipping the whole project. It uses a freeware program "NutCase MacBinary" because MacBin Drop always quits on me and can only do drag and drop. Also requires the zip command line tool that is installed with the Developer Tools.
Some of the subroutines I didn't write myself, they were copied from a free zip script I found.
Comments? Bugs? I'm not really a great programmer so don't expect it to work properly for every unexpected situation you might throw at it.

(edit) New stand-alone version available from link in sig

This post has been edited by Guy : 08 October 2006 - 03:15 AM

Timely! This was just the thing to get me to finally make a binned & zipped version of Cold Fusion for Nova, which will hopefully resolve a recently aired complaint.

To anyone else who wants to use this: you'll need to download NutCase MacBinary from this site.

Now I just gotta find the time to make minor revisions to my website, so people can actually find the new archive....

This post has been edited by Dr. Trowel : 22 August 2005 - 10:38 PM

Dr. Trowel, on Aug 23 2005, 03:35 AM, said:

To anyone else who wants to use this: you'll need to download NutCase MacBinary from this site.
View Post

Hm, it's supposed to tell you to go here if it can't find it. Oh well.

Anyway, I've put a new version up now with major changes. Among other improvements it will only bin Nova files - so you'll lose any custom icons on other files you might have but PC users won't try to convert them by mistake.

This post has been edited by Guy : 23 August 2005 - 07:49 PM

New version performs as advertised -- I lose my custom icons and can no longer open my old-style SimpleText readme file with a double-click. I guess that's simply the price of idiot-proof cross-platformness. 😞