Making the nature layer

How do you make a nature layer in a map. As in when you place a house when you walk behind the picture covers you up but when you walk in front of it you do not get covered up by the picture.

------------------
Thanks,
GrahamVH

Originally posted by GrahamVH:
**How do you make a nature layer in a map. As in when you place a house when you walk behind the picture covers you up but when you walk in front of it you do not get covered up by the picture.

read the section in the user guide under maps about dynamic y-sorting...and study the medieval demo game carfully/dissect it reproduce it

------------------

You can make as many layers as you want and call them what you want, not just "nature" layer. My layers help me identify what they are, simple as that. So since my first map is a cave, I've labled the layers as "cave structure," "items," "animation," bridges," etc. I'm new to Coldstone, but I think I can explain something.

While an image like a house may LOOK 3 dimensional, it really isn't. What's important first is the bottom edge of an image. So first think about the bottom edge of your house and the feet of your Player.

Layers are structured in relation to you, or how you see it (and consequently in relation to whoever's playing the game.) As long as the feet of your Player is BELOW the bottom edge of the house, the head and the rest of your Player is ABOVE or on top of your image. If you go outside and look at two trees, one in front of the other, look at it in relation to you. The foot of the tree nearest you looks like it is lower than the tree farther away from you. Also the tree nearest you blocks part of the tree farther away from you -- you can't see all of it.