International Relations and Galactic Politics

Or: Why Systems of Three Don't Work

I am a student of international political science, and was thinking about how foreign relations would effect the building of a galactic map. Now, I am a member of the so-called realist school of international relations, so I will use that for analysis. In its defense, realism has pretty well dominated both foreign policy analysis and American foreign policy. Realism was first proposed by Thucydides, and was later carried on by Machiavelli, Sun Tzu, Kisinger, Hans Morgenthau, and others. It's basic tenets are as follows:

• States are primarily concerned with their own security and survival.

• The international (or intergalactic) system is anarchic. That is, there is no "higher power" to guarantee security or enforce contracts, alliances, and suchlike.

• All states have an inherent capability to act to defend themselves.

• This capability to defend themselves means that states also have a capability to affect others, and the combination of these capabilities is the power of a state.

• Since the system is anarchic, one state can never be sure of another's intentions.

• Since states are unsure of other states intentions, and those states have power, the best way to ensure your survival and security is to amass more power than them.

What does this mean for plugins?

• Systems of three states, which are quite common in sci-fi, are really quite unstable unless one state is overwhelmingly powerful or weak enough that the it is irrelevant. Otherwise, two would gang up on the remaining state and destroy it. If there is a somewhat remote powerful state, powerful enough to overwhelm all the others, then you can probably get away with it (this is called an offshore balancer in international relations theory).