visibly rotating turrets

How do I make visibly rotating turrets?

How can I make turrets that sit on top of the ships and rotate to track targets independently of ship heading and movement? (to look like turrets on a real-life battle ship.)

I'm an experienced 3D modeler and animator for games but a total newby to Nova Tools.

J_I_Logan@mac.com

J_I_Logan, on Jan 17 2005, 08:54 AM, said:

How can I make turrets that sit on top of the ships and rotate to track targets independently of ship heading and movement? (to look like turrets on a real-life battle ship.)

I'm an experienced 3D modeler and animator for games but a total newby to Nova Tools.

J_I_Logan@mac.com
View Post

What you could do is make the turrets an animated part of a ship, kinda like the Leviathan, although I'm not sure how much control you'd have over them.

Not the control he'd want. They wouldn't point at things that they shoot, and the most he could do would make them spin around regardless, or do something when the ship fires a secondary weapon. No actual enemy ship tracking though.

Phyvo is right, you can't have turrets track ships visibly. Animated ship parts for weapons are best used for guns for which they need recoil.

Make some type of port that opens... Is it possible to have a sprite that originates at that point? Like a glowing ball that comes out of an "opening" on the top of the ship and crosses over the ship sprite?

You could do it, but it would require a special kind of shot - it would need to be a beam or just supposedly fire REALLY quick. That said...

Make it part of the weapon sprite.

This post has been edited by orcaloverbri9 : 17 January 2005 - 12:45 PM

It isnt possible, even using weapon sprites. With the current NOVA engine, there is no way to do it 😞

I thought about the turret being a carried fighter but I need the turrets in specific places on the ship and not flying off when told to attack.

These turrets don't have to be the 'normal' ones in Nova. Any way is OK.