Question on graphic modification

I have been working on my plug-in Titan for a few months. I created a post on the Nova board for people to downlaod it, asking for responses. One of the responses is that it could use some better graphics (I whole-heartedly agree). My goal is to take the Leviathan graphics and remove a ring from its structure, thereby creating a shortened version. I use Graphic Converter to do this with the existing frames by cutting, pasting, and filling in space. The result is a slightly choppy and inconsistent animation. I know that the renderings for Nova have not been released, and seeing as how my graphics skills are extremely limited (I once opened up Mechanisto...), is there anyway for me to create a modified version of the Leviathan graphics that could be within my ability and give me better results?

This post has been edited by erikthered : 14 May 2005 - 11:34 PM

The Leviathan is a case in point of something that is very easy to make in Mechanisto (animations included). If you want to go and edit the individual frames then you're almost certain to get a not-too-good result. It would probably be a lot easier if you tried your hand at modeling the Leviathan sans one ring, or even created your own new ship to fill that role, than to go and edit all like 189 or 256 frames of the Leviathan... Plus move the flares...

He's right. It's actually not too hard to make something like a Leviathan. Make your own slightly different ship for it.

Maybe I was not clear when I said I once opened Mechanisto. That is about all I can do with it. The reason I asked if I could modify the existing Leviathan graphics is because the Titan is an alterred Leviathan. I want it to look like a Leviathan, only with one less ring and no spinning. I cut the front and moved it back so I would not have to worry about changing the engine glows.

Hey erikthered. Have you looked at my Mechanisto tutorial? Follow the link below.