Unpublished MASCOT Tricks

You can skip this part if you want.

First off, I'd like to state that I love MASCOT. In a way, making levels was more fun than playing them. And I have no doubt that making levels wouldn't have been nearly as fun if the editor had been even remotely user-friendly. Without the challenge of making something work - and harder still, making something both functional and visually appealling - the editor wouldn't have been able to get my interest as it did.

It's been over six years since I started playing Ferazel and playing with the editor. A couple of you, if you're still around, might even remember my very first levels. The OBW team has another of my earlier levels. Somewhere on the downloads section is Still Nameless, one of the first works I was actually truly proud of. Just a few years back, marking my last release to all six or so members of the FW public, I released Thok's Evil Legacy, containing three incomplete levels that I'd created; I doubt anyone even played them.

Sad as it is to say, Ferazel's Wand is long dead. As much as I'd like to hang on to this amazing game, it's doubtful that it'll make a comeback. I doubt even the simultaneous completion and release of Extemporaneous, Basic Nothingness, Malcolm's World, and One Big World - to say nothing of the countless other epic worlds started but never finished - would be enough to convince me to boot into OS 9 to play them. The only thing that ever inspires me to do that is when I feel the pull to create something and test it, which has been happening less and less as time goes by.

And so, I get to the meat of my post;