Research has stopped

I'm an unregistered newb. Help. 🙂

I am in containment. I seem to have collected too few souls and will need to start over. Oops. But here is the real problem:

I was researching various things (eg. Darwinians, grenades, squads, etc.) by setting them as priorities, but the research seems to have stopped. I am trying to research laser, but over the last ~some long period of time~ (I would prefer not to think about exactly how much time I spent on what appears to be a lost cause) no reasearch has happened. At all. The bar just sits there, empty.
Any explanations/solutions? It was going slowly before, but it was happening...

Another question: If I "Reset Location," do I keep technologies that I got while I was in there for the first time? I think I should, as I am not starting over the whole game, but I do not know what technologies are removed when you reset their parent areas. NOTE: I do not mean the officers that you "find" in a box, but the "grenade 2.0" type research that the professor guy makes. Sorry if none of that was near correct terminology, I do not quite know any of said terminology.

FedKiller, on Nov 5 2005, 08:40 PM, said:

I am in containment. I seem to have collected too few souls and will need to start over. Oops. But here is the real problem:

Yeah, that can be a pain.

I was researching various things (eg. Darwinians, grenades, squads, etc.) by setting them as priorities, but the research seems to have stopped. I am trying to research laser, but over the last ~some long period of time~ (I would prefer not to think about exactly how much time I spent on what appears to be a lost cause) no reasearch has happened. At all. The bar just sits there, empty.
Any explanations/solutions? It was going slowly before, but it was happening...