Ory'Hara Unabridged

if Ory'hara were crippled...

Ory'Hara, Unabridged

A Escape Velocity Nova Fanfiction by Chris Jin

Prolouge: Waking.

People always congratulate me on getting so far despite being handicapped, or as one snide pundit put it, "legicapped". Getting so far? I never dreamed I would be a race sled pilot before my accident. I wanted to be a spacer, a trader, wandering among the stars. But a spacer has to be able bodied, ready to handle whatever extreme conditions arise. In the restriction of gravity, I am bound to my wheelchair, no problem when all I have to do is manipulate helm controls, but a serious handicap in loading cargo, and meeting potential employers. So I had to settle for half way. I can pilot, travel the stars even, but I'm still not a true spacer. No, I'm a racer pilot, bastard child of atmospheric craft operator and spacer. Like so much in my life, I have only half of what I dreamed of as a child.
- Leslie Ann Jensen, private journal, October 24, 1176 NC

She rose from deep dark depths to rind herself standing level, on the open, lightly vegetated, windswept plain of an unfamiliar place. Blinking in the light of and unfamiliar sun, she held her hand up to shield her eyes and squinted into the distance. Before her, was a tableau of ancient buildings, worn down by erosion, and standing in the center of the ruins, a indistinct figure which seemed to radiate a presence she could feel, tingling against her skin. The figure, which had now resolved it's self into a humanoid as she got closer - she started; she hadn't realized she had begun to move closer- began to move, turning. . ."

<Sirrusa Station. December 4, 1177 NC>