EV/EVO Chronicles: EV Story: THE WAR OF THE NARY-CRYSTAL *CHAPTER 2*

Chapter 2

"What were those things?" Demora asked. She and Ankh Starrunner were on the bridge while the crew was repairing the ship.

"As you might have guessed, they were Aliens."

"Oh my god..." Demora whispered. "That's impossible! Even the Rebellion records show that the Aliens were completely terminated!"

Ankh shook his head. "Well, it seems that those records are far too optimistic." He looked around. "How long will the repairing take?"

"Not long, I guess. But there's some major problem with the shield generators, and we can't activate the main power core without the protecting fields, y'know."

"I might be able to do something to it. I used to work as an engineer on a warship, so I may know some ways to repair shield generators that your engineers do not."

"Well, go ahead and try, it's fine with me." Demora said, and led Ankh Starrunner into the machine room.

"How did you get your name?" Demora asked. "Starrunner. That was my callsign, a nickname I had during the Great War. And Ankh... that is a long story, one we do not have the time for. Simply call me Ankh, if you like. Oh, here is the problem."

"What is this... er... thing?" Demora asked. "It is a replicator tank." Ankh said.

"Great. So what does it do?" Demora asked.

Ankh looked disappointed. "I believe I have to explain the entire shield system for you. In a nutshell: The shield is a huge magnet, which keeps replicated particles near the ship. Always when the shields are damaged, some of the particles are released, and the replicator creates then more particles, thus recharging the shields. Did you understand? Now this machine is used to replicate the particles."

"Guess so. Now what's wrong with this machine?" Demora asked.

"Well, some cables are broken, one of the Combining Accelerators is burned, and the..."

Ankh started. "Yes, yes, but can you fix it?" Demora asked.