Bug In Restore!

You might remember Context/Restore...

I just noticed a very annoying bug in Restore of Context/Restore fame. Apparently, it doesn't have enough memory to properly do big prices, and I'm not sure why. I have alot of expensive outfits, so it's really, really annoying. For example, A Turn Jet System-200 is supposed to cost 3,000,000 creds. But after I run it through Restore, it comes out as 420,012,000. Now, as a computer engineer, I believe this is probably a problem with memory overflow- probably something simple like using a short int instead of a long int, but with Dr. Ralph gone, is there any hope of getting this fixed?

-me fears of the prices in Sephil Saga...-

I think as well that overflow may indeed be the reason, though overflow would usually give a result in the restricting range. The problem lies with ResStore, not ConText, right?

You don't need to fear the prices... that much 🙂 Money earned has been raised somewhat comensurately.

But indeed, that's what I found strange to- it should end up in the restricted range if it was a 2 byte overflow error. So who knows? Still, somehow the value is getting corrupted.

I'm pretty sure the problem is just with Restore- I haven't noticed any junk coming out of Context and I check those values much more thouroghly (usually) than the restored values.

-Sorry for the delay-
I tested ResStore with some high outfit price values, and everything comes out fine for me. What I did is ConTexting the Nova Data 4 outfits, modified an outfit price in the text file, and dropped it to ConText, rinse and repeat for a number of values between 32767 and 2,000,000,000, including 3,000,000.
Anything unusual about the file you're attempting to ResStore? Is it really big, or something else that may be relevant?

Zacha Pedro, on Oct 6 2004, 09:14 AM, said:

-Sorry for the delay-