How much cargo space do I need?

Mission is named Convoy Chaos II

Is this question easier to answer?

I started playing the Convoy Chaos II mission in the Empire of Crime plug-in.

It's part of the Serpens Triumvirate story. I have 30 tons of cargo space.

However, it seems that is not enough.

I boarded one of the freighters I had to board in the mission... and had 10 tons cargo space left free.

When I tried to board the second freighter, I got a message about not having enough cargo space.

I looked at the mission in ResEdit, and the mission requires 20 tons of cargo space.

The mission has 3 freighters that I have to board.

So does this mean I have to have 20 tons of free cargo space for each freighter?

That means I would have to have 60 tons of cargo space! There is not a single mission in Nova that requires this much, and I can't think of any plug-in I ever played that requires you to have 60 tons of cargo space.

To get 60 tons of cargo space, I would have to... sell something. Perhaps one Neutron Turret? Then I would have to buy 3 Cargo Expansions just because one mission requires so! And then I would be unable to buy the turret back. I think that I would have to buy 3 Mass Expansions to get my 30 tons of weapon space back. Is this correct? Tell me, because it's important for me to know.

Does the game work in that way that if the are several ships you have to board in a mission, the game requires you to have the amount of cargo space the mission requires times the amount of ships the mission has? So if there are 3 ships and the mission requires 20 tons of cargo space, you have to have 60 tons free?

That makes the game potentially impossible. Because then I could not buy as many Mass Expansions. Also, it would be impossible to know beforehand when this happens.

Edit: This also results in me having weaker ships if I always have to keep 60 tons as cargo space. I don't know if this affects my ability to win missions in Empire of Crime.