Deleting logs...

Ah gotcha, thanks. (I usually have played a game for a year before I join the boards, so im new at this asking-questions thing hehe)

------------------
Going to war without France is like going deer hunting without your accordian.
"You're dumb." -Rawzer to whitedevil and whitedevil2

Do ALL servset a passive trace, or the big ones like the Academic Database (in other words, do I have to worry about deleting logs when I just start out?)

------------------
Going to war without France is like going deer hunting without your accordian.
"You're dumb." -Rawzer to whitedevil and whitedevil2

I'm curious - for active traces, are there ways to slow down traces besides adding more bounces?

------------------
I'll kill you.
(url="http://"http://taoistmonksquirrel.blogspot.com/")My life(/url)
Tout que je voudrais est vivre la vie que j'aime.

I'm curious - for active traces, are there ways to slow down traces besides adding more bounces? <<

Yes. You want to bounce through sites where you have an account or (even better) admin access.

You can tell the places you have accounts because their square on the map has a dashed box around it. The Uplink Bank shows up like this (hint hint hint).

Places where you have admin access are marked with a solid box (the uplink test machine for instance, though I'm not sure if that particular one buys you much time).

------------------
r

Tip: Deleting the logs at internic is not sufficient if you, say, transfer half a million credits from someone else's bank account to yours - as I just found out :frown:. I got caught within a minute of doing this, just after I started thinking "maybe I should delete transaction logs too...". The worst part is, I didn't even start an active trace. I thought I was safe.

Sigh, start again.

1. You should back up your agent a few times so that you don't have to restart each time.