Making new Ships for Nova

I am new at making ships for Nova and I have Mission Computer 3.3.3..........
I was just wondering if anyone could tell me how to create the graphics for the ship and how to get it to appear in the shipyard.

For that you're going to need a 3d graphics program. Here's a few I got from a quick Google search of freeware 3d modeling:

http://sketchup.google.com/#utm_campaign=e...203d%20modeling
http://www.artzend.c...%20Programs.htm

Once you get a hold of a 3d program, you'll have to create the ship model. After that, there's the process of turning your model into the 2d graphics that Nova uses, which you can find tutorials on here under the heading "Graphics Tutorials" (second post).

This post has been edited by Archon : 21 May 2008 - 06:24 PM

blech, google sketchup... or you can use WINGS 3D, thats what i use

This post has been edited by guysullavin : 21 May 2008 - 07:46 PM

or blender.

You should probably go with what they said; I'm completely clueless on the subject.

Blender's a great free tool. I use Lightwave, which is actually pretty cheap for a student licence for non-commercial use.

@guysullavin, on May 21 2008, 06:44 PM, said in Making new Ships for Nova:

blech, google sketchup... or you can use WINGS 3D, thats what i use

And how do i get those graphics into the plugin using mission computer?

In general, you use a tool to convert the sprites from raw image data into an RLE encoded format suitable for Nova. On the PPC Mac platform , I use ResEdit. On other platforms, I'm actually not sure. To be blunt, I've never attempted it. 🙂

if you mean, how do you get the graphics from the 3D program, then you need to take screenshots or renders (ALOT for a spin) then export them, then edit them in Photoshop (or MS paint or whatever!) then save them as separate squares, then open those squares in SpinApp, then presto, you have a spin.